Under Rhode Island law, robbery is defined as “intentionally stealing from another through force, violence or threat.” Because of its direct association with aggression or violence, the penalties for robbery are severe in this state. While there are two different classifications of these crimes, both can carry prison sentences and substantial monetary fines. When you are charged with robbery, it can be very challenging to navigate through the complexities of the legal process and find some way to rebuild your life after this event. Proper legal guidance is necessary to ensure your rights are protected and you receive the best possible outcome in court.
Attorney Stephen Archambault has worked on every side of the legal process, as a former police officer, state senator and prosecutor, and now as a defender. Our Rhode Island team is equipped to understand the different elements that constitute a robbery charge so that we can provide you with the best defense possible. We know an arrest of this nature can be frightening and overwhelming and we will be there to give you the support, education and representation necessary throughout the process.
The distinguishing factor in a robbery charge is the use of aggression and force. Without the element of a physical threat of violence or the use of a weapon, the charges may be for lesser crimes like larceny or burglary. When robbery is the charge, it could fall into one of two different classifications:
You are likely to be charged with first-degree robbery if any of the following factors are involved:
First-degree robbery carries serious penalties, including up to 10 years to life in prison and fines up to $15,000 in fines. Other consequences might include community service, restitution to the victim and behavioral counseling.
A robbery will be classified as a second-degree crime in any of the following circumstances:
Because second-degree robbery will still include an act of aggression or a threat, the penalties for this crime are stiffer than those typically associated with other theft crimes. In Rhode Island, second-degree robbery can be punishable by up to 30 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. Other consequences like restitution and community service may also apply in this case.
When you are charged with first or second-degree robbery, the team at Archambault Law is by your side through the entire legal process. We will work with you from arraignment to preliminary hearings and all subsequent court appearances. We can even help you file an appeal when it is warranted. If you or a member of your family have been accused of robbery, a skilled criminal defense team is invaluable in helping to secure best possible outcomes for your case.
To get a free assessment of your case and answers to all your legal questions, contact Archambault Law today at 401-300-0925.