Making DUIs Worse
Getting charged with DUI is bad enough…don’t make it worse by making any of the serious mistakes below. From excessively high blood alcohol content (BAC) to driving drunk with children in the car, there are many aggravating factors that can turn your DUI from a bad mistake to extended time behind bars. You could even end up facing felony charges.
Rhode Island, and most other states, have zero tolerance laws for underage DUI offenders. While 0.08 percent BAC is the legal limit for individuals 21 and over, anyone under 21 will fail a breath or blood test with a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher. Considering that even one drink can elevate a person’s BAC to 0.02 percent, those under 21 should avoid driving after any amount of alcohol. Further, if an underage person refuses to submit to a breath test, he/she will face a three-year driver’s license suspension.
Second and Subsequent DUIs
As far as the courts see it, you should have learned your lesson the first time. If you’ve already been convicted of a DUI and you are charged with a second or subsequent offense, you’ll be facing higher fines, a longer license suspension, the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), and probably even jail time, at a minimum. If this is your third or greater offense, you may be looking at a felony conviction, and you’ll almost certainly spend time behind bars.
Driving while intoxicated endangers everyone with whom you share the road, especially those in your vehicle. And if children are present, you will face some of the stiffest penalties possible. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), alcohol is a factor in nearly one in five traffic deaths involving a child age 14 or younger. In addition to hefty fines, license suspension or revocation, and jail time, your child custody rights may be in jeopardy if you are convicted of DUI with a child in the vehicle.
If you seriously injure or kill another person while operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol, the potential penalties are severe. In such a situation, it is imperative to get immediate legal help.
Do yourself, and everyone with whom you share the road, a favor—don’t drink and drive. But if you made a mistake, it’s in your best interest to consult with a Rhode Island DUI Defense Attorney. Attorney Archambault understands the anxiety individuals experience when facing criminal charges. Therefore, he takes the time to meet with his clients to explain the charges and discuss the strengths and weaknesses of their case. Schedule a complimentary consultation to discuss your case with Attorney Archambault.